And the Classical Guitar Winners Are…

Finals of the Classical Guitar category are over! The Jury of the Guitar Masters 2016 competition, composed of Oscar Ghiglia, Berta Rojas, Martha Masters, Annette Kruisbrink, Shin-Ichi Fukuda, Sean Samimi, Marek Pasieczny, Krzysztof Pelech and Leszek Możdżer selected the winners from among 12 finalists.


The winners were announced during a ceremony preceding the concert of guitarist Marco Tamayo, who performed with the NFM Wroclaw Philharmonic orchestra under the baton of Vladimir Fanshil.


Awards were presented by the Guitar Masters Artistic Director Krzysztof Pełech, President of the Guitar Masters 2016 Jury and guitarist Oscar Ghiglia, Deputy Mayor of Wroclaw Anna Szarycz and outstanding luthier Stanisław Partyka.


Here are the winners in the Classical Guitar category:


I. place: Andrea De Vitis (Italy)


II. place: Davide Giovanni Tomasi (Italy)


III. place: Tengyue Zhang (China)

Distinctions for the best interpretations:

Giacomo Susani (Italy)

Vojin Kocic (Serbia)

Distinctions were awarded for the best interpretations of Phosphenes composed by Marek Pasieczny. Written especially for the Guitar Masters 2016 competition, it was the only obligatory piece in the live auditions of the second round of the competition. You can listen to Phospehes here.


Congratulations to all the winners!

Full transmission of the ceremony and the winners recital is on our Youtube channel:
We also invite your to view the ceremony photographs:
This website uses cookies to allow the registration of event participants and service related processes. By using this site you agree on use of cookies, according to the current browser settings.